2023 Blue Ribbon Schools celebrated for closing student achievement gap
October 30, 2023
There are 33 California schools that have been chosen as 2023 National Blue Ribbon Schools. This prestigious award honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools that close achievement and opportunity gaps and where students achieve high learning standards.
“Congratulations to our outstanding Blue Ribbon Schools, where academic excellence and unwavering support for every one of our students is exceptional,” said state Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond, in a news release. “Your commitment to fostering an inclusive and exceptional learning environment exemplifies the true essence of education. Your dedication inspires us all, and we celebrate your remarkable achievement.”
Schools are recognized based on the school’s overall academic performance or progress in closing opportunity gaps among student subgroups. The recognized schools are among the state’s highest performing based on all student scores, subgroup student scores and graduation rates.
Public schools are nominated by top education officials in each state, the DoD Education Activity and the Bureau of Indian Education. Private schools are nominated by the Council for American Private Education.
California’s 2023 National Blue Ribbon Schools
Contra Costa County: Middle College High School, West Contra Costa USD.
Fresno County: Edison Computech School, Fresno USD; and Manchester Gate Elementary School, Fresno USD.
Los Angeles County: Charles J. Carver Elementary School, ABC Unified School District; Downtown Magnets High School, Los Angeles USD; Glen A. Wilson High School, Hacienda La Puente USD; Grace Miller Elementary School, Bonita USD; Horace Mann Elementary School, Glendale USD; Leffingwell Elementary School, East Whittier City Elementary School District; Los Molinos Elementary School, Hacienda La Puente USD; Martha Baldwin Elementary School, Alhambra USD; Mesa Robles School, Hacienda La Puente USD; Ocean View Elementary School, East Whittier City Elementary School District; San Jose Charter Academy, West Covina USD; and Wedgeworth Elementary School, Hacienda La Puente USD.
Orange County: A. G. Cook Elementary School, Garden Grove USD; Buena Terra Elementary School, Centralia Elementary School District; Crean Lutheran High School, Pacific Southwest District; Early College High School, Newport-Mesa USD; Susan B. Anthony Elementary School, Garden Grove USD; and Thomas Paine Elementary School, Garden Grove USD.
Riverside County: Eastvale Elementary School, Corona-Norco USD; and John F. Kennedy Middle College High School, Corona Norco USD.
San Bernardino County: Sixth Street Prep STREAM, Victor Elementary School District; and Terra Vista Elementary School, Etiwanda Elementary School District.
San Diego County: Casita Center for Technology, Science & Math, Vista USD; and Garfield Elementary School, San Diego USD.
San Francisco County: John Yehall Chin Elementary School, San Francisco USD; Jose Ortega Elementary School, San Francisco USD; and Ulloa Elementary School, San Francisco USD.
San Joaquin County: Middle College High School at San Joaquin Delta College, Lodi USD.
Santa Barbara County: Hope Elementary School, Hope Elementary School District; and Peabody Charter School, Santa Barbara USD.