2024 awards honor commitment to equity
State winners announced for 2024 Awards Program
April 15, 2024
ACSA is proud to announce the recipients of the 2024 statewide Awards Program. This annual program honors exceptional leaders who demonstrate a commitment to an equitable education system and have made significant contributions to education.
Nominations for this year’s program were due to ACSA’s 19 regions in January. Regions reviewed nominations and selected their regional winners, who then became finalists for the state award. More than 250 finalists were submitted across 26 categories for consideration at the state level. ACSA’s Past President Erin Simon chaired the 2024 Awards Committee, comprised of board members Roxane Fuentes, Diego Ochoa, Julie Olesniewicz, Terrence Davis, Dustin Seemann and Lisette Estrella-Henderson.
The high caliber of the individuals nominated made an impression on this year’s committee.
“I have read state award submissions before, and this year’s submissions were extraordinary,” said Olesniewicz, assistant superintendent of Educational Services for Claremont USD. “As a 30-year educator, it is so exciting to see so many talented and hardworking administrators in the state of California that are truly making a difference in the lives of students. All the nominees should be proud.”
“This year’s ACSA state award nominees are a group of truly remarkable educators,” according to Ochoa, superintendent of San Mateo-Foster City USD. “I loved seeing submissions come in from as far south as Calexico all the way to Mt. Shasta.”
Estrella-Henderson, county superintendent of schools for Solano COE, said she was inspired by the depth of talent, dedication, and passion exemplified by these outstanding leaders.
“What strikes me most is not just their impressive qualifications, but the profound impact they have on students,” Estrella-Henderson said. “These leaders go above and beyond to create environments where every student can thrive academically, emotionally and socially. We are fortunate to have such exceptional individuals at the helm of our schools, shaping the future of our students and communities with unwavering commitment and excellence. It’s heartening to know that such outstanding individuals are at the forefront of our schools, tirelessly working to uplift and empower the next generation.”
The 2024 recipients will each be featured in EdCal beginning in June, and will be presented with their awards at the Leadership Summit Statewide Awards Ceremony on Nov. 15 in San Diego. More information about the event will be available in the coming months at acsa.org/leadershipsummit.
The nomination window for 2025 awards will open on Aug. 1. Visit acsa.org/awards to learn how you can nominate colleagues for next year’s program.
2024 Special Awards and Administrators of the Year
Special Awards
Ferd. Kiesel Memorial Distinguished Service Award George Manthey Consultant and Leadership Coach Region 8
Marcus Foster Memorial Award for Administrator Excellence Shandelyn Williams Deputy Superintendent, Antelope Valley Union High School District Region 15
Robert E. Kelly Award Shelton Yip Region 3
Partners in Educational Excellence Award Joe Simitian and County of Santa Clara Board of Supervisors Partnership Region 8
Valuing Diversity Award Paul Gothold Superintendent, San Diego County Office of Education Region 18
Administrators of the Year
Superintendent of the Year Grant Bennett Superintendent, Perris Union High School District Region 19
Secondary Principal of the Year Efa Huckaby Principal, Liberty High School, Liberty Union High School District Region 6
Middle Grades Principal of the Year Terri Daniels Principal, Folsom Middle School, Folsom Cordova Unified School District Region 3
Elementary Principal of the Year Julie Hatchel Principal, El Morro Elementary, Laguna Beach Unified Region 17
Central Office Administrator of the Year Mary O'Neill Grace Assistant Superintendent, Educational Services, Anaheim Elementary School District Region 17
Secondary Co-Administrator of the Year Charlie Troughton Associate Principal, Corning Union High School, Corning Union High School District Region 1
Elementary Co-Administrator of the Year Ali Rabiei Assistant Principal, Center Street School, El Segundo Unified School District Region 14
Classified Leader of the Year Victoria Webber Executive Assistant to the Superintendent and Board of Education, Laguna Beach Unified School District Region 17
Confidential Employee of the Year Lydia Lugo Dominguez Executive Assistant to the Superintendent, Oxnard School District Region 13
Personnel/Human Resources Administrator of the Year Kirk Skorpanich Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources, Perris Union High School District Region 19
Adult Education Administrator of the Year Wayne Diulio Director, Torrance Adult School, Torrance Unified School District Region 14
Career Technical Education Administrator of the Year Joseph Bova Career Technical Education Administrator, Ventura Unified School District Region 13
Special Education Administrator of the Year Holly Wade Director of Special Education Services, San Mateo Union High School District Region 5
Superintendent/Principal of the Year Amy Alzina Superintendent/Principal, Cold Spring Elementary School District Region 13
Business Services Administrator of the Year Alejandro Flores Deputy Superintendent of Administrative Services, Rowland Unified School District Region 15
Student Services Administrator of the Year Kimberly Wright Director of Health & Safety, Palmdale School District Region 15
Curriculum & Instruction Administrator of the Year Patricia Andry-Jennings Assistant Superintendent, Instructional Services, Napa Valley Unified School District Region 4
Continuation/Educational Options Administrator of the Year Gregory Perez Principal, Santana High School, Rowland Unified School District Region 15
Professor of Education of the Year Regina Tillman Professor, Antelope Valley College & Principal, Tamarisk Elementary School, Palmdale School District Region 15
Retired Administrator of the Year David Gomez Region 13
Technology Administrator of the Year Leslie Wagonseller Executive Director of Technology and Educational Services, Orcutt Union School District Region 13