ACSA EdCal logo.
Association of California School Administrators
Association of California School Administrators
ACSA state award recipients announced
March 29, 2021
Every year, ACSA’s Awards Committee is faced with a daunting task: selecting 26 statewide award recipients out of hundreds of worthy candidates.
This year’s committee, chaired by immediate ACSA Past-President Linda Kaminski and comprised of current state board members, spent five weeks reading through close to 250 nominations, then met to select the recipient in each category.
“The winners are outstanding,” Kaminski said. “The whole process speaks volumes about the quality of educators in California.”
She added, “Everyone is so surprised and humbled by winning.”
Awards Committee member Derrick Chau, senior executive director of P-12 Instruction at LAUSD, was impressed by the nominations in general. “I’ve really enjoyed reading about the amazing work happening across the state,” he said. The 2021 statewide winners will be featured in EdCal stories this summer and fall, and honored as part of the Leadership Summit, Nov. 4-6.
For more information on the program and recognition events, visit
2021 Special Awards
Ferd. Kiesel Memorial Distinguished Service Award Anthony Knight Superintendent, Oak Park USD Region 13
Marcus Foster Memorial Award for Administrator Excellence Raul Maldonado Superintendent of Schools, Palmdale SD Region 15
Robert E. Kelly Award Will Ector Region 8
Partners in Educational Excellence Award Latino Health Access Region 17
Valuing Diversity Award Carol Osborne Associate Superintendent of Learning Support Services, Poway USD Region 18
2021 Administrators of the Year
Superintendent of the Year Sarah Koligian Superintendent, Folsom Cordova USD Region 3
Secondary Principal of the Year John Briquelet Principal, Gretchen Whitney High School, ABC USD Region 14
Middle Grades Principal of the Year Lorianne Ventura Principal, Cottonwood Creek School, Dublin USD Region 6
Elementary Principal of the Year Peter Van Court Principal, Clarendon Elementary, San Francisco USD Region 5
Central Office Administrator of the Year - County/District Amy Peterman Assistant Superintendent of Educational Services, Ceres USD Region 7
Secondary Co-Administrator of the Year Felicia Limbrick Assistant Principal, Monrovia High School, Monrovia USD Region 15
Elementary Co-Administrator of the Year Kristyn Andrews Assistant Principal, Cambridge & Foxboro Elementary, Travis USD Region 4
Classified Leader of the Year Barbara Alejandre Chief Intergovernmental Relations Officer, San Bernardino County Superintendent of Schools Region 12
Confidential Employee of the Year Leslie Baker Human Resources Specialist, Certificated, El Dorado Union HSD Region 2
Personnel/Human Resources Administrator of the Year David Marshall Resolution Officer, Riverside USD Region 19
Adult Education Administrator of the Year Ivan Ayro Director of Adult Education and Career Technical Education, Charter Oak Adult Education, Charter Oak USD Region 15
Career Technical Education Administrator of the Year Alecia Myers-Kelley Director of Programs and Student Support Services, MetroEd Region 8
Special Education Administrator of the Year William Sachau, Jr. Director, Special Services, Early Childhood Special Education Center, San Benito COE Region 10
Superintendent/Principal of the Year Scott Borba Superintendent/Principal, Le Grand Elementary School, Le Grand Union ESD Region 9
Business Services Administrator of the Year Frances Ufondu Chief Business Officer, Palmdale School District Region 15
Student Services Administrator of the Year Lynne Sheffield Director of Student Services, Welcome and Registration Center, Moreno Valley USD Region 19
Curriculum & Instruction Administrator of the Year Kimberly MacKinney Assistant Superintendent, Educational Services, Oro Grande School District, Oro Grande SD Region 12
Continuation/Educational Options Administrator of the Year Erick Fineberg Principal, Tustin Connect, Tustin USD Region 17
Professor of Education of the Year Denise Wickham Adjunct Professor of Education, California State University, Stanislaus and Deputy Superintendent of Personnel Services, Ceres USD Region 7
Retired Administrator of the Year Dave Urquhart Region 7
Technology Administrator of the Year Thomas Tan Director of Network and Computer Services, Hacienda La Puente SD Region 15
Contact Us

© 2020 Association of California School Administrators