And the awards go to ...
ACSA announces 2022 administrators of the year and special award winners
March 28, 2022
As part of ACSA’s annual recognition program, 21 Administrators of the Year awards and five special awards are given to exceptional educational leaders and one school-community partnership program. The awards honor administrators and community leaders who are doing extraordinary work to support California’s students.
The 2022 Awards Committee was chaired by Past President Ron Williams, served by current board members Robert Frausto, Maria Thompson, Gina Lynch and Grant Bennett, and supported by ACSA awards coordinator Emily Agpoon. ACSA’s 19 regions play a critical role in facilitating the program, communicating with members and working with charters to select state finalists to submit to the committee.
“The past two years have added unprecedented challenges to our public school system that our administrators have met with courage and success,” said Thompson. “Being a part of the ACSA Awards Committee this year and reviewing 233 awards submissions reminded me of the incredible greatness and talent of the school leaders that dedicate their lives to our schools. I am proud to serve alongside these ACSA leaders and I am grateful for their nominating team members who took the time to recognize and honor their colleagues.”
Lynch thanked Agpoon for her help in making the award selection experience both positive and productive.
“As this was my first time serving on the Awards Committee, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect,” she said. “I was thoroughly impressed with the process and how the committee naturally calibrated on selecting recipients. We are so excited to honor our winners in the fall!”
This is the third year Frausto has participated in the state ACSA Awards Committee.
“It’s been an honor and privilege to see the caliber and expertise of school administration throughout the state of California,” he said. “It never ceases to amaze me how difficult it is to select just one winner amongst the outstanding school administrators submitted throughout the state of California from all of the ACSA regions.”
Bennett said it was an honor to serve on the committee.
“We have so many people doing so many great things for students,” he said. “Reading the applications reminds us why we chose to go into education. We could not have gone wrong with any of the candidates and congratulations to the honorees.”
The 2022 recipients will be featured in EdCal this summer and fall and honored at the Leadership Summit Statewide Awards Ceremony, taking place Nov. 4 in San Diego.

For more information on the program and to learn about how to nominate a colleague in 2023, visit
2022 Special Awards and Administrator of the Year recipients
2022 Special Awards
Ferd. Kiesel Memorial Distinguished Service Award Scott Schmerlson LAUSD School Board Representative, Los Angeles USD, Region 16
Marcus Foster Memorial Award for Administrator Excellence Regina Rossall Superintendent, Westside Union SD, Region 15
Robert E. Kelly Award Stacy Bryant Region 15
Partners in Educational Excellence Award Shop with a Cop: Back to School Teacher’s Edition Program Region 12
Valuing Diversity Award Soledad Molinar Director of Multilingual & Multicultural Education, Ventura USD, Region 13
2022 Administrators of the Year
Superintendent of the Year Ted Alejandre Superintendent, San Bernardino County Superintendent of Schools, Region 12 Secondary Principal of the Year Morgan Smith Principal, Marina High School, Huntington Beach Union HSD, Region 17 Middle Grades Principal of the Year Lorelle Dawes Principal, Cabrillo Middle School, Ventura USD, Region 13 Elementary Principal of the Year Katherine Castleberry Principal, Lincoln Elementary School, Torrance USD, Region 14 Central Office Administrator of the Year Roger Brossmer Assistant Superintendent, Educational Services-Secondary Education, Downey USD, Region 14 Secondary Co-Administrator of the Year Marci Chavez Acting Principal, Nelson Elementary, Hacienda La Puente USD, Region 15 Elementary Co-Administrator of the Year Denise Fenton Assistant Principal, Two Bunch Palms Elementary School, Palm Springs USD, Region 19 Classified Leader of the Year Angela Zeoli Director I, Purchasing, Modesto City Schools, Region 7 Confidential Employee of the Year Coral Godlis Executive Assistant to the Superintendent, Cold Spring School, Cold Spring SD, Region 13 Personnel/Human Resources Administrator of the Year Lena Bundtzen Assistant Superintendent, Human Resources, Campbell Union SD, Region 8 Adult Education Administrator of the Year Saida Valdez Assistant Director of Adult & Continuing Education, Azusa Adult Education Center, Azusa USD, Region 15 Career Technical Education Administrator of the Year Amy Robbins Director of College and Career Readiness, Tri-Valley ROP District Office, Tri-Valley ROP, Region 6 Special Education Administrator of the Year Terri Lynne Ricetti Executive Director of Special Education, Napa Valley USD, Region 4 Superintendent/Principal of the Year Wynette Hilton Superintendent/Principal, Tenaya Elementary, Big Oak Flat Groveland USD, Region 7 Business Services Administrator of the Year Lisa Gonzales Chief Business Officer, Mt. Diablo USD, Region 6 Student Services Administrator of the Year Trudy Gross Associate Superintendent of Teaching and Learning, Fremont Union HSD, Region 8 Curriculum & Instruction Administrator of the Year Dianna Marsh Assistant Superintendent, Educational Services, Madera County Superintendent of Schools, Region 9 Continuation/Educational Options Administrator of the Year Roberto Carrillo Principal, JCCS South/East Region, San Diego COE, Region 18 Professor of Education of the Year Jennifer Goldstein Professor, Educational Leadership, College of Education, Cal State University Fullerton, Region 17 Retired Administrator of the Year Don Remley Region 2 Technology Administrator of the Year Rebecca Cooksey Assistant Superintendent of Innovation and Technology Services, Lancaster SD, Region 15
Contact Us
© 2022 Association of California School Administrators