ACSA EdCal logo.
Association of California School Administrators
Association of California School Administrators
These model continuation schools show how to serve at-risk youth
April 26, 2021
State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond has announced that 27 schools throughout the state were recognized as Model Continuation High Schools for 2021.
“Student attendance and engagement in distance learning during the school closures has been difficult — especially for students who struggled with attendance issues before the pandemic,” said Thurmond. “These model schools have been able to keep at-risk students on track using social and emotional learning, mentorship programs, restorative justice practices, and other innovative methods. Through the work of dedicated teachers and administrators, model continuation schools provide the students they serve with new academic opportunities that can change the course of their lives in high school and beyond.”
Each of the schools honored offer various opportunities for their students to pursue academic and social success. For example:
  • Delta Continuation High School in Richmond has established social/emotional learning elements, including a crisis intervention consultant and school psychologist that provide tiered-level intervention support. Students also have access to mental health group support and one-on-one counseling.
  • Desert Oasis Continuation High School in El Centro maintains a community mentor program comprised of local professionals, including many members from law enforcement. The law enforcement mentors participate in activities with students that focus on team building, collaboration and trust.
  • George and Evelyn Stein Continuation High School in Tracy has a strong academic support system in place with an emphasis on creating a plan that meets a student’s individual needs and goals. Each student has an academic advisor who is with them during their entire time at the school and a teacher advisor who develops a plan for graduation and post-graduation.
There are over 400 continuation high schools serving 50,000 students throughout the state, ages 16 through 18, who have not graduated from high school and who were at risk of not completing their education.
The MCHS Recognition Program is a collaborative partnership between the California Department of Education and the California Continuation Education Association Plus (CCEA Plus). The program honors continuation high schools for the comprehensive services they provide at-risk youth through instructional strategies, flexible scheduling, guidance and counseling.
Not only does this involve operating and supporting their own exemplary program, but MCHS-recognized educators make a commitment to support and mentor their peers in other local educational agencies. The MCHS were selected based on a comprehensive application process that involved assessments and data. The process included a peer review panel and on-site visit. This year’s visits were conducted virtually due to the pandemic.
The 27 schools selected as MCHS retain their designation for three years and were recognized at the 2021 CCEA Plus State Conference in San Diego, April 15–18, 2021. Individuals were able to attend the conference in person or virtually.
For more information, please visit the CDE Continuation Education web page at or the CCEA Plus website at
2021 Model Continuation High Schools
Angel’s Gate Continuation High School (San Pedro), Principal Paul Valanis Aurora High School (Calexico), Principal Juan Moreno Calico Continuation High School (Yermo), Principal Brice Scott Chaparral High School (San Dimas), Principal Christine Black Del Puerto High School (Patterson), Principal Jose Sanchez Del Valle Continuation High School (Livermore), Principal Erik Taylor Delta High School (Santa Maria), Principal Sal Reynoso Desert Oasis High School (El Centro), Administrator Fernando O’Campo Frontier High School (Whittier), Principal Margie Moriarty George and Evelyn Stein Continuation High School (Tracy), Principal Traci Mitchell Green Valley High School (Yucaipa), Principal Frank Tucci John R. Wooden High School (Reseda), Principal Laura Novak La Cuesta Continuation High School (Santa Barbara), Principal Lauren Berlin La Vista High School (Fullerton), Principal Sandi Layana Major General Raymond Murray High School (Vista), Principal Carol Barr Mountain View High School (San Jacinto), Principal Kenneth Swanson Olympic Continuation High School (Concord), Principal Lynsie Castellano Park West High School (Pomona), Principal Luis Rodriguez Raincross Continuation High School (Riverside), Principal Dennis Deets Rancho Del Mar High School (Rolling Hills), Principal Richard Licciardello San Andreas High School (Highland), Principal Dorie Stratton San Andreas High School (Larkspur), Principal David Luongo Sierra High School (Azusa), Principal Kent Stout Vail Continuation High School (Montebello), Principal Horacio Perez Valley View High School (Ontario), Principal Julie Prestsater Village Oaks High School (Stockton), Principal Josef Schallberger Whitcomb Continuation High School (Glendora), Principal Ron Letourneau
Contact Us

© 2020 Association of California School Administrators