ACSA EdCal logo.
Association of California School Administrators
Association of California School Administrators
Nominees for ACSA’s Exemplary Woman in Education Award announced
Winner will be honored at Leadership Summit, Nov. 4-6
June 14, 2021
ACSA’s women’s award was created to lift up and recognize exemplary female leadership among the ranks of ACSA members. Its purpose is to spotlight women who have demonstrated courageous leadership, especially throughout the pandemic.
“This award comes with high expectations,” said Senior Director of Member Services Margarita Cuizon-Armelino. “The winner will have made noticeable contributions to her profession and has a demonstrated and clear desire to promote and grow other women leaders, all while under the pressures of a pandemic.”
A record number of nominations were submitted, which will make selecting one winner a challenge. The selection committee will be chaired by ACSA’s 2019 Exemplary Woman in Education Award winner, Dr. Cindy Petersen, superintendent/CEO of Gateway Charter Schools. The committee meets during the last week of June and will announce their winner in July. The winner will be honored at the November 2021 Leadership Summit and again at the Spring 2022 Women in School Leadership Forum.
“This award comes with high expectations.”
— Margarita Cuizon-Armelino, ACSA Senior Director of Member Services
Nominees for 2021 Exemplary Woman in Education Award
Cynthia Altemeyer, Senior Director, Human Resources, Monterey County Office of Education Frances Baez, Local District Central Superintendent, LAUSD Shannon Baker, Senior Director, Curriculum and Instruction, San Diego County Office of Education Hilaria Bauer, Superintendent, Alum Rock Union School District Jammie Behrendt, Assistant Superintendent, Menlo Park City School District Susan Bishop, Director of Pupil Services, Moraga School District Jennifer Brown, Principal, Walker Junior High School, AUHSD Renae Bryant, Director of English Learner & Multilingual Services, Anaheim Union High School District Nancy Bui, Principal, Rooftop Pk-8 School, San Francisco Unified School District Roberta (Bobbi) Burkett, Assistant Superintendent, HR and Student Services, Alpine Union School District Caroline Calero, Director of Educational Services, Hollister School District Donna Campbell, Assistant Superintendent of Special Education & Student Services, Palmdale School District Mary Castner, Elementary Principal, Temple Academy, Hacienda La Puente Unified School District Angela Clark-Louque, Professor/Consultant, CSU San Bernardino Dept. of Educational Leadership Paulette Cobb, Director of Special Education, San Benito High School District Jennifer Earl, Principal, Hoover High School, Glendale Unified School District Vivian Ekchian, Superintendent, Glendale Unified School District Megan Esquer, Assistant Principal, Santa Fe Computer Science Magnet School, Monrovia Unified School District Judy Flores, Superintendent of Schools, Shasta County Office of Education, Shasta County Cindy Frazee, Associate Superintendent, Human Resources, San Dieguito Union High School District Yolanda Gardea, Principal, Van Nuys High School, Los Angeles Unified School District Jennifer Gaviola, Deputy Superintendent, District Office, Paso Robles Joint Unified School District Hannah Geddy, Assistant Superintendent Human Resources, Temple City Unified School District Kip Glazer, Principal, San Marcos High School, Santa Barbara Unified School District Lisa Gonzales, Chief Business Officer, Mt. Diablo Unified School District Andree Grey, Superintendent, Encinitas Union School District Trudy Gross, Associate Superintendent, Fremont Union High School District Shannon Hansen, Assistant Superintendent, Business Services, San Benito County Office of Education Dulcinea Hearn, Instructional Coordinator, San Diego Unified School District Shana Henry, Principal, Encina Middle High School, San Juan Unified School District Julianne Hoefer, Assistant Superintendent, Educational Services, Ocean View School District Amy Illingworth, Assistant Superintendent Educational Services, Encinitas Union School District Marian Kim-Phelps, Superintendent, Poway Unified School District Debra Kubin, Superintendent, Ukiah Unified School District Kathleen Leary, Director Early Child and After School Programs, Newport-Mesa Unified School District Michele Lee, Principal, Charter Oak Adult Education Sabrina Lee, Assistant Superintendent of Instructional Services, Solana Beach School District Laura Lemos, Principal, Juarez Elementary, San Diego Unified School District Kimberly Lewis, GLA, Computech Middle School, Fresno Unified School District Delores B. Lindsey, Professor, CSU San Marcos Kimberly MacKinney, Assistant Superintendent of Educational Services, Oro Grande School District Norma Martinez, Superintendent, Centralia Elementary School District Christine McCormick, Assistant Superintendent, Gateway Community Charters Robin McMillon, Principal, Rialto High School, Rialto Unified School District Jennifer Meglemre, Principal, Dolores Huerta Middle School, Burbank Unified School District Alexis Meron, Assistant Principal, Bohannon Middle School, San Lorenzo Unified School District Terry Metzger, Superintendent, Denair Unified School District Melissa Moore, Superintendent, El Segundo Unified School District Michele Mower, Principal, Beech Avenue Elementary, Fontana Unified School District LaRonda Ortega, Elementary School Principal, Arthur F. Corey Elementary School, Buena Park School District Elodia Ortega-Lampkin, Associate Superintendent Educational Services, Woodland Joint Unified School District Kim Ortiz, Director of Pleasanton New Teacher Project, Pleasanton Unified School District Grace Park, Associate Superintendent of Curriculum, Instruction, Innovation, and Support Division, Chino Valley Unified School District Dana Pedersen, Superintendent, Guerneville School District Joan Perez, Assistant Superintendent of Educational Services, San Gabriel Unified School District Kim Reed, Assistant Superintendent Education Services, Lakeside Union School District Erica Renfree, Principal, Junipero Serra High School, San Diego Unified School District Ziggy Robeson, Superintendent, Ripon Unified School District Regina Rossall, Superintendent, Westside Union School District Sherry Segura, CEO, The Foundation for Hispanic Education Shana Smith, Assistant Director, Employee Development Department, Human Resources, San Bernardino City Unified School District Angela Stevenson, Principal, Martin Luther King Junior High School, Pittsburg Unified School District Adele Thomas, Director of Professional Development and Teacher Support, District Office, Fontana Unified School District Robin Torres, Assistant Superintendent HR, El Monte Union High School District Karen Villalobos, Superintendent/Principal, Twin Rivers Charter School, Yuba City Unified School District Terry Walker, Assistant Superintendent, Instructional Services, Keppel Union Elementary Denise Wickham, Deputy Superintendent of Personnel Services, Ceres Unified School District Beth Wodecki, Assistant Superintendent, Secondary Education, Monterey Peninsula Unified School District
Contact Us

© 2020 Association of California School Administrators