Contact EdCal
Send questions, comments and news tips to us via this form.
Thank you for submitting!
Region News
May 22, 2023
R2: Retired Leaders Charter visits air museum
Region 2’s Retired Leaders Charter visited the Chico Air Museum as part of their meeting in March. The tour of the museum included information about airplanes from WWI and WWII as well as more modern equipment. There were also displays of space shuttle equipment and memorabilia from collectors and airplane enthusiasts.

“The Chico Air Museum is a special gem. We had the opportunity to see many antique airplanes and learn about the Chico Army Air Field which trained pilots between 1942 and 1945,” said Charter President Louise Johnson. “As educators, we enjoyed this opportunity for our own lifelong learning experience.”
Region 2 leaders who attended a recent visit to Chico Air Museum included 2022 Retired Leader of the Year Don Remley and Bob Noyes, a former ACSA state president.
R11: Administrators of the Year honored at ceremony
ACSA Region 11 celebrated the following Administrators of the Year during their Annual Awards Ceremony May 4 at Hodel’s Country Dining in Bakersfield:
  • Classified Administrator of the Year: Jonathan Martinez, Rosedale USD.
  • Central Office Administrator of the Year: Kari Bejar, Exeter USD.
  • Superintendent of the Year: Terri Rufert, Sundale UESD.
  • Adult Education Administrator of the Year: Tami Olson, Visalia USD.
  • Retired Administrator of the Year: Tom Giampietro.
  • Special Education Administrator of the Year: Tammy Bradford, Tulare COE.
  • Secondary Co-Administrator of the Year: Andrew Montes, Exeter USD.
  • Middle School Principal of the Year: Erick Rouanzoin, Fruitvale SD.
  • Human Resources Administrator of the Year: Judy Burgess, Visalia USD.
Additionally, Rufert and Kelly Richers, superintendent of Wasco USD, were honored with the Itzenhauser/Schlagel Honorarium Lifetime Retiree Award, named in honor of David Itzenhauser and Dick Schlagel, two men who approached their positions with a remarkable dedication to education and to ACSA. The award recognizes those retirees who served the region at a high level.
Region 11’s Every Student Succeeding Award was given to Ramiro Martin, a 2023 graduate of Tulare Union High School.
Scholarships were awarded to 15 graduating seniors whose parents are members of ACSA:
  • Morgan Bradford, Redwood High School.
  • Grace Cobb, Wasco High School.
  • Sarah Cobb, Wasco High School.
  • Michael Crow, Fowler High School.
  • Cole Hodgson, Liberty High School.
  • Annalise Ostash, Sherman E. Burroughs High.
  • Emily Peters, Sierra Pacific High School.
  • Mallory Reimer, El Diamante High School.
  • Aliya Resendez, Highland High School.
  • Brady Revious, Sierra Pacific High School.
  • Reagan Richard, Redwood High School.
  • Jarrett Rogers, Sierra Pacific High School.
  • William Twomey, Bishop Union High School.
  • Aidan Verduco-Flores, East High School.
  • Mia Williams, Mammoth High School.
Do you have Region News and photos to share? Submit your news items for possible inclusion in an upcoming issue of EdCal.
Contact Us
© 2023 Association of California School Administrators