Contact EdCal

Send questions, comments and news tips to us via this form.

Thank you for submitting!

ACSA EdCal logo.
Association of California School Administrators
Association of California School Administrators

Region News

May 31, 2021
R18: Awards given to Marten, Administrators of the Year
ACSA Region 18 and the San Diego County School Boards Association recently held their 19th annual Honoring Our Own virtual awards event, which included the winners of Region 18’s Administrator of the Year.
ACSA Region 18 President Juan Cruz hosted the virtual ceremony with San Diego County School Boards Association President Darshana Patel on May 1. The event featured prerecorded video stories from each of the winners of both associations’ awards. Winners also joined live to accept their honors.
Former ACSA President and former California ASCD President Sandy Clifton introduced the Outstanding Instructional Leader Award, which was presented to San Diego USD Superintendent Cindy Marten. It marks the first time ACSA and ASCD have co-presented this award.
During her prerecorded video, Marten shared that her work as superintendent is to make sure students have what they need, when they need it and in the way they need it. Over her more than 30 years in education, she has dedicated her work to creating equitable learning conditions so that all students can make a difference in the world. Her favorite part of the job is touring schools to see students engaged in learning.
“I love seeing our students live their best life and have their dreams manifest and come true,” she said.
During her live acceptance, Marten acknowledged her mother and brother for teaching her courage and determination.
“I know that it’s that courage and determination that is what has gotten us all through this past year,” she said. “So now it’s our turn to share that courage and that determination with the next generation, and I know tonight I’m with a group of people on this entire event who will get that work done.”
Watch the awards ceremony at
The following individuals were recognized as Region 18’s 2021 Administrators of the Year:
Superintendent — Marian Kim Phelps, Poway Unified School District Secondary Principal — Eileen Frazier, Oceanside Unified School District Middle Grades Principal — Precious Jackson Hubbard, San Diego Unified School District Middle Grades Principal — Heather Potter, San Diego Unified School District Elementary Principal — Jeri Billick, Ramona Unified School District Central Office — Staci Monreal, San Diego Unified School District Central Office — John Czajkowski, Sweetwater Union High School District Secondary Co Administrator — Tessa Riley, Escondido Union High School District Elementary Co Administrator — Stephanie Ceminsky, San Diego USD Classified Leader — Jennifer Orr, Solana Beach School District Confidential Employee — Kristie Towne, Solana Beach School District Valuing Diversity Award (state winner) — Carol Osborne, Poway Unified School District Curriculum & Instruction — Marco Arellano, El Centro Elementary School District Career Technical Education — Joe Austin, Poway Unified School District Continuation/Educational Options — Jorge Espinosa, Carlsbad USD Personnel/Human Resources — Michelle Hayes, Cajon Valley Union School District Special Education — Sharon Casey, Chula Vista Elementary School District Student Services — Rich Watkins, Escondido Union High School District Business Services — Gary Petill, San Diego Unified School District Retired Administrator — Sandra Clifton, Region 18 Retiree Charter Superintendent/Principal — Mark Burroughs, San Pasqual Union School District Technology — Richard Roberts, Grossmont Union High School District Marcus Foster Memorial Award (nominee) — Staci McClanahan Dent, San Diego Unified School District Partners in Educational Excellence Award — UC San Diego Health, Jacqueline Carr, Executive Director of Communications
ACSA Region 18 Executive Director/Consultant Tom Teagle delivers the Outstanding Instructional Leader Award to Cindy Marten, who accepted the honor during the Honoring Our Own live virtual awards ceremony May 1.
Do you have Region News and photos to share? Submit your news items for possible inclusion in an upcoming issue of EdCal.
Contact Us

© 2020 Association of California School Administrators