Contact EdCal
Send questions, comments and news tips to us via this form.
Thank you for submitting!
Region News
July 11, 2022
R13: Administrators of the Year honored at banquet
Region 13’s 2022 Administrators of the Year were honored at an awards banquet May 6 at Hotel Corque in Solvang.
The theme was “Casino Royale,” and decorations incorporated dice, gaming chips and playing cards in the colors red and black. In addition, Rene Rickard was celebrated for completing her two-year term as Region President. She has been selected to be the ACSA State Director for Region 13.
The following Administrator of the Year winners were celebrated at the banquet:
Secondary Co-Administrator: Garrett Lepisto, Las Virgenes USD. Special Education: Valerie Louthian, Las Virgenes USD. Marcus Foster Award (nominee): Cesar Morales, Ventura COE Central Office: Ana DeGenna, Oxnard School District. Business Services: Patsy Thomas, Oxnard Union High School District. Student Services: Shannon Houston Scott, Oxnard Union High School District. Curriculum and Instruction: Kelly Castillo, Ocean View School District. Superintendent: Roger Rice, Ventura USD. Secondary Principal: Dave Monson, Ojai USD. Middle Grades Principal: Lorelle Dawes, Ventura USD. Valuing Diversity Award: Soledad Molinar, Ventura USD. Personnel/Human Resources: Roxanna Stern, Santa Barbara USD. Confidential: Coral Godlis, Cold Spring School District. Elementary Principal: Joe Schmidt, Orcutt School District. Classified Leader: Brad Gitchell, Orcutt School District. Retired Administrator: Michael Tapia, Ventura USD.
Outgoing Region 13 President Rene Rickard (left) receives a plaque for her service.
Region 13’s 2022 Administrators of the Year.
R15: Scholarship endowment student winner selected
The 2022 recipient of Region 15’s Marcus Foster Scholarship Endowment is Shalom Uzabakiliho, a senior at Quartz Hill High School, part of the Antelope Valley Union High School District.
Shalom plans on becoming a middle school teacher. Her father teaches chemistry and biology, and she wants to follow her dad’s example and “create an environment where kids are learning and having fun at the same time.”
“I have grown to love the idea of educating students and preparing them for the world,” she said. “I specifically want to teach junior high students because I want to encourage and equip them during their pivotal, developmental years.”
Local youth pastor Jay Fauley said Shalom stands out as a leader among the more than 100 students he works with.
“I have absolutely no doubt in my mind that Shalom is going on to do great things,” he said. “I do not know another student who works harder or is a more intentional leader than Shalom.”
The scholarship is made possible by members of the ACSA Antelope Valley Chapter, including Stacy Bryant and Raul Maldonado, who were named as recipients of ACSA’s Marcus Foster Memorial Award for Administrator Excellence in 2018 and 2021, respectively. Using Bryant’s $5,000 award and donations from other Antelope Valley Chapter administrators in attendance at the 2018 ACSA Awards banquet, a scholarship endowment was created to award one high school senior with a $500 scholarship each year into perpetuity. Now, with an additional $5,000 contributed by Maldonado, the value of the annual scholarship has been increased to $700.
2022 recipient of Region 15’s Marcus Foster Scholarship Endowment Shalom Uzabakiliho, a senior at Quartz Hill High School, part of the Antelope Valley Union High School District.
Do you have Region News and photos to share? Submit your news items for possible inclusion in an upcoming issue of EdCal.
Contact Us
© 2022 Association of California School Administrators